HOTTER GmbH  Aigen 6 | 4710 Pollham, Austria | +43-7248-64962 | office@hotter-care.at       IMPRESSUM

HOTTER CARE - FAQ

 

Frequently asked questions:

 

  • Why do you use acids for the cleaning of the wet section in paper machines ?
    • Water carries carbonate and carbonate deposits create rough surfaces. It is the rough areas where bacteria and fibers can accumulate. Acids remove the mineral deposits and the roughness.

 

  • Are the acids dangerous for the clothing and the machine ?
    • This is a critical issue in the development of acidic cleaning products. We formulate acids and other raw materials with the target to be gentle to the clothing, the machine and humans. But there is one strict guideline to follow: never let the cleaning product dry. When it dries the water evaporates and the concentrated chemicals are left. So always water clothing before and after the treatment. Machine parts also have to be washed off with water carefully. If you follow this guideline the chances for damaging clothing or machine structures are low. The positive effects of cleaning outweigh by far the risks of using acidic cleaning products !

 

  • Can you remove old, thick carbonate deposits during a single 8 hour shutdown ?
    • Despite the combined use of chemicals and high pressure water this is often not possible. The reason is that carbonate deposits change over the years. Instead of the typical white-grey deposits they change to brown, sandy grains which are extremely hard. To remove them chemically you would need extremely aggressive acid combinations but this is impossible in a paper machine wet end. Therefore the only way to remove them is a cleaning process with frequent cleanings, large volumes of chemical product and high pressure cleaners.

 

  • Are all acidic cleaning products labeled as dangerous goods ?
    • Yes, due to severe damage of eyes and skin when exposed to the acid for a long time. Our material safety data sheets contain detailed information about the dangers and protective measures for workers. Being labeled as dangerous good does not automatically mean that the product is extremely dangerous. Our products are as ecofriendly as possible and can be used by humans when all safety rules are followed.

 

  • Your alkaline product Hotter Solution CCS 100 is not labeled as dangerous good. Why ?
    • That has to do with the choice of raw materials and the pH value. We adjusted this product to a pH of 10-11 and developed a formulation that can remove organic and oily deposits well without posing a severe threat to eyes and skin. But please be aware that this label does not mean you can avoid using the required personal safety equipment ! See our material safety data sheet for details on the PSE.

 

  • What about the environmental effects, do we have to expect problems with the waste water treatment plant ?
    • Basically, in chemistry the core issue is always concentration and volume of products. Our target is to develop the most ecofriendly cleaning products for cleaning paper machines. Protecting aquatic life is extremely important for us, therefore we do not use any raw materials which pose a long term threat for the biology in water bodies. Another issue is the phosphate content of the phosphoric acid used in our acidic products. Some water treatment plants are very strict about their effluent discharge. For this reason we have developed a phosphate free version of our acidic cleaner. However, normally there is no issue with our acidic products because of the low dosage into the system during a 10 hour cleaning job. The acidic foam is washed off and diluted with water before it flows to the waste water plant.

 

  • The new automated cleaning solution Hotter Solution ACSM, what is that ?
    • We use industrial automation components to control the cleaning process. A touch panel display allows to start the mechanical process - water, cleaning products and flushing processes are programmed in customer specific logics. This way the machine workers can focus on other jobs during the shutdown. Every automated cleaning solution is tailored to the customer’s needs.

HOTTER GmbH  Aigen 6 | 4710 Pollham, Austria | +43-7248-64962 | office@hotter-care.at       IMPRESSUM

HOTTER CARE - FAQ

 

Häufig gestellte Fragen unserer Kunden:

 

  • Warum verwendet man Säuren für die Reinigung in der Nasspartie von Papiermaschinen ?
    • Mit dem Wasser kommt Kalk und Kalkablagerungen erzeugen raue Oberflächen. An diesen Rauhigkeiten können sich Bakterien und Stoff ablagern. Säuren entfernen mineralische Ablagerungen und machen die Oberflächen wieder glatt.

 

  • Sind die Säuren nicht zu gefährlich für Bespannungen und Maschine ?
    • Das ist ein wichtiger Punkt bei der Entwicklung von sauren Reinigern. Die Auswahl der Säuren und deren Konzentration sowie weiterer Rohstoffe der Formulierung erfolgt mit dem Ziel, Bespannungen, die Maschinenteile und Menschen zu schonen. Grundsätzlich gilt vor allem: Chemie nicht eintrocknen lassen. Bespannung vor und nach der Behandlung wässern. Maschinenteile nach der Behandlung mit Wasser abspritzen. Hält man sich an diese Vorgangsweise, ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit von Schäden sehr gering. Die positiven Effekte der Reinigung sind es wert, saure Reiniger einzusetzen !

 

  • Kann man sehr dicke Kalkablagerungen während eines einzigen Stillstands von 8 Stunden entfernen ?
    • Trotz Kombination von Hochdruckreinigern und starken Säuren ist das oft nicht möglich. Der Grund sind Veränderungen des Kalks von hellgrauen Ablagerungen zu braunen, Sandsteinartigen Ablagerungen. Man kennt das von Heizkesseln, dort werden diese alten Ablagerungen Kesselstein genannt. Da in der Papiermaschine keine extremen Säurekonzentrationen und Mischungen verwendet werden können, bleibt nur der häufige Einsatz von großen Mengen saurer Reiniger zusammen mit Hochdruckreinigern übrig.

 

  • Sind alle sauren Reiniger als Gefahrgut klassifiziert ?
    • Ja, da sie bei langfristigem Kontakt mit Haut oder Augen zu Schäden führen. Die Sicherheitsdatenblätter geben detailliert Auskunft über Schutzmaßnahmen für Arbeitnehmer. Die Klassifizierung als Gefahrgut bedeutet aber nicht automatisch eine extreme Gefährlichkeit. Unsere Produkte sind so umwelt- und gesundheitsfreundlich wie möglich und können bei Einhaltung der in den Sicherheitsdatenblättern genannten Vorsichtsmaßnahmen bedenkenlos verwendet werden.

 

  • Der alkalische Entöler Hotter Solution CCS 100 ist nicht als Gefahrgut eingestuft. Warum nicht ?
    • Das hat mit den verwendeten Rohstoffen und dem pH Wert zu tun. Wir haben dieses Produkt auf einen pH Wert von 10-11 eingestellt und eine Formulierung entwickelt, die zwar gut organische und ölige Ablagerungen entfernt, aber trotzdem nur gering schädlich für die Haut und Augen ist. Allerdings bedeutet die Einstufung nicht, dass man auf persönliche Schutzausrüstung verzichten darf.

 

  • Wie ist das mit der Umweltfreundlichkeit, kann es mit den Klärwerken Probleme geben ?
    • Prinzipiell geht es bei der Umwelt immer um die Menge und Konzentration der Chemie. Unser Ziel ist es, die umweltfreundlichsten Produkte für die Reinigung der Papiermaschinen herzustellen. Der Schutz der Wasserlebewesen ist uns extrem wichtig, daher verwenden wir keine Rohstoffe die eine Gefahr für die Biologie der Gewässer darstellen. Ein Thema ist Phosphor aus der in einigen Produkten verwendeten Phosphorsäure. Bei manchen Klärwerken ist die Verwendung von Phosphorsäure wegen behördlicher Auflagen nicht erlaubt. Daher haben wir auch eine phosphatfreie Variante eines sauren Reinigers entwickelt. Die Anwendung von sauren Reinigern ist für die Klärwerke ansonsten kein Problem, da die Reiniger nur langsam und stark mit Wasser verdünnt von der Papiermaschine zu den Klärwerken abfliessen.

 

  • Wie kann man sich die neue automatisierte Reinigungslösung Hotter Solution ACSM vorstellen ?
    • Wir verwenden eine industrielle Automation über die per Display der Reinigungsprozess gestartet wird. Wasser, Reinigungsprodukte und Spülvorgänge werden nach einem kundenspezifischen Logikprogramm aufgetragen bzw. durchgeführt. Somit kann das Maschinenpersonal sich um andere Arbeiten kümmern. Jede Anlage wird zusammen mit den Kunden nach ihren Wünschen konfiguriert.